Welcome Guest. Sign in or Ask a qustion

Questions & Answers Do you have "life" questions? Search below and we hope to guide you with answers.
1 Answers

What are the types of IUDs (Intrauterine devices)?

Asked by: 901 views ,
Contraception, Health, STDs

1 Answers

  1. GirlSmarts on May 01, 2020 Reply

    There are currently five IUDs (intrauterine devices) that are FDA-approved in the United States. Paragard, the copper IUD, can be used for up to ten years and does not contain hormones. The other four IUDs (Mirena, LiIetta Kyleena, and Skyla) contain a hormone called levonorgestrel (a hormone also used in some birth control pills). LILETTA can be used for up to six years. Mirena and Kyleena can be used for up to five years. Skyla can be used for up to three years and has a lower dose of levonorgestrel. Skyla and Kyleena are smaller in size compared to the other IUDs.

    For more information, refer to http://www.bedsider.org

    0 Votes Thumb up 0 Votes Thumb down 0 Votes

    Disclaimer: All health information on Girlsmarts.org is for informational purposes only. The Content is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of a trusted adult/guardian or professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Never disregard parental or professional medical advice or delay in seeking these because of something you have read on the Girlsmarts.org website. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call a trusted adult and your doctor or 911 immediately.

Answer Question